Awards & Prizes

‘Top prize of £10,000 for the Landscape Photographer of the Year 2017’

Adult class

The judges will choose the single best image from all four Adult categories. The photographer of this image will be awarded the prestigious title, ‘Landscape Photographer of the Year 2017’ and £10,000.

For the images then judged to be the best in each of the four categories, there will be a prize of £1000.

For the images judged second in each of the four adult categories, there will be a prize of £500.


Youth class (17 or under)

The photographer, aged 17 or under, who creates the entry chosen by the judges as the single best image, taking into account all four youth categories, will become the Young Landscape Photographer of the Year 2017 and will win £1,000. Payment of the cash element of the prize will be made to the winner’s parent/guardian.

There will be a prize of a copy of the Awards book for the photographer of the image judged the best in each of the four youth categories.


The VisitBritain 'Home of Amazing Moments' Award

VisitBritain and the GREAT campaign tell stories and share amazing moments to inspire visitors to come to Britain. They are looking for an image that showcases the diverse and vast range of experiences that Britain has to offer.

An image that demonstrates their core values:

  • Open Invitation – we want to use our people to provide an invitation to immerse yourself in Britain.
  • Always Innovating – we want to use our world class creativity to breathe life into our stories.
  • Surprisingly real – we want to use both British traditions and modern twists on tradition to provide familiarity and surprise.

The prize for the photographer of their chosen image will be a place in Awards book #11 and at the exhibition and an invitation to the opening night. (Further details to follow)

Entries in all categories will be eligible. A shortlist will be prepared by Take a view in association with VisitBritain, with the winner being chosen by representatives of VisitBritain.

Visit Britain


Network Rail ‘Lines in the Landscape’ Award

This Award will be presented to the one photographer who best captures the spirit of today’s rail network as it relates to the landscape around it. Images may be submitted for this Award of the operational national rail network anywhere in Great Britain (excluding Northern Ireland). Please note that images of any underground railway systems, light rail systems, heritage railways, disused infrastructure, pier railways or model railways are not eligible for this award. Images may be entered into any category of the main Award, but entrants must select from the appropriate dropdown on the entry form that it is also eligible for the Network Rail Award.

The prize will be an exclusive visit to Britain's favourite railway landmark, the Forth Bridge in Scotland. Here, weather permitting, there will be ample opportunity to photograph the 127-year old railway bridge from areas not accessible to the general public. Network Rail will also arrange for the lucky winner to take the engineers' lift to the top of this iconic structure to capture some amazing views of the Forth and see the Bridge from a completely different perspective. In addition, Take a view will pay £300 to the winner to assist with expenses relating to the visit.

To be eligible, images must be of railways within the British landscape and must have been taken from public access land or rights of way. It is a criminal offence to go onto the railway. Any competition submissions that are taken from locations that are clearly on the railway will not be eligible and may be passed to the British Transport Police. Network Rail and rail industry employees who have not been directly involved in organising this competition are eligible to enter this award. No Network Rail employee will judge the competition to ensure impartiality is preserved. The Network Rail ‘Lines in the Landscape’ Award winner will be chosen by head judge, Charlie Waite. Prize visit must be made before 31st December 2018.

Network Rail

The Sunday Times Magazine Award

The Sunday Times Magazine is world-renowned for its blend of investigative journalism, insightful features and award-winning photography. Launched in 1962, the Magazine continues to lead the way in journalistic excellence and innovation.

As media supporter of the Take a view Awards, The Sunday Times Magazine has always been the first to announce the results and to feature successful images from each year’s competition.

To celebrate this relationship, now in its eleventh year, we are pleased to offer this Award for the favourite image of The Sunday Times Magazine.

The prize is a one-day photography workshop with Light & Land plus a 12-month digital subscription to The Sunday Times.

Entries in all categories will be eligible, with the shortlist being decided by the primary selection & interim judging panels. The final decision will be made by representatives of The Sunday Times Magazine. Light & Land workshop to be selected from (subject to availability) and taken by 31st December 2018. Travel to & from workshop not included.

The Sunday Times Magazine

Book & Exhibition

All winners, together with further entries that the judges feel are worthy of commendation, will see their pictures published in the book, Landscape Photographer of the Year – Collection 11, by AA Publishing. There will be an exhibition of winning entries following the announcement of the results. All decisions regarding the design and layout of the exhibition are made by Take a view and the exhibition curator and their decision is final.

A copy of the Awards book will be given to the overall winner, category winners and photographers of Highly commended images.

Take a view and their Sponsors & Supporters reserve the right to change prizes to ones of comparable value if required by unforeseen circumstances. Any such changes will be posted on the competition website. Prizes are not transferable and no cash equivalent will be available for non-cash prizes. Additional prizes that may be supplied by sponsors and supporters are the responsibility of their supporting companies and Take a view is not liable for any difficulties that may arise in relation to these specific Awards due to unforeseen circumstances.